The Dark Room Part I: First Love

April 13, 2009

03_people-1-34-34-2

I’ve been thinking nostalgically about the early days, when my love for photography began to blossom. I won’t claim to be one of those hard core ‘film’ guys that were actually mucking about in that world professionally. Polaroid’s and all that nonsense. However, I am glad that film is where my journey with photography began.

My old man is a photographer, so I came by it naturally. He actually gave me my first camera, a Canon AL-1 SLR. But it wasn’t until high school when my hobby began a passion. It all started when I was 14 and I discovered…

The Dark Room

Which I immediately fell in love with because of how moody and bad ass the name sounded. The Dark Room. Can you think of a better place for an angry Goth to spend countless, solitary hours?? By comparison, Lightroom kind of seems like the corny Christian ‘moral option’ to the Dark Room. Lame.

I was a darkroom die hard. I skipped classes to make contact sheets. I lived by the ever glowing red safelight. I converted images to sepia by soaking them in coffee overnight. On many occasions, I left the school when the janitor went home and kicked me out. God I miss those days.

img_2318-33-33-11img_2521-35-35-31

4 Responses to “The Dark Room Part I: First Love”

  1. That guy in the bottom picture looks just like a guy I met in Costa Rica. I guess he has that familiar latino middle-aged man look.

    I took a photography class in high school and the Dark Room was pretty fun. I don’t think I had quite the love affair that you did though.

  2. There is nothing Latino about this fine gentleman hawker. He’s a stone cold Canadian with a …. heart of gold

  3. amyquarry said

    I was a dark room lover in my high school and college days. My tiny college had a tiny darkroom that only I knew how to use and so it was my escape from the madness of dorm living with a crazy roomate. Ahhh..I miss it too. I was a “late adopter” to digital too and I feel like I am not half the photographer with it that I was with film. But….technology marches on. Sigh.

  4. […] hours upon hours in my high school dark room (which I blogged all about a while ago in “The Dark Room Series“). But it’s been a long time since I’ve done […]

Leave a comment