or not at all.

October 26, 2010

it’s Tuesday night, which means the Mrs. is tutoring math in the living room. which means I hang out in the bedroom for two hours pretending to be productive doing stuff like cleaning my inbox, getting caught up with my social network, and blogging.

just… really important stuff.

I just spent the last half hour or so going back through all my blogs. I don’t know why I am feeling so nostalgic these days. Anyway, I love stirring the waters of my past. As a photographer, it’s pretty neat to be able to see tangible improvement in my work. But not just technically speaking. I can also see that I am in the process of wrestling down a ‘look’ that is my own, and that’s just fine. That said, there’s quite a lot of rubbish there too. Maybe I’ll do some spring cleaning.

Side note:
How does Mumford and Sons kick so much ass??
Seriously.
They are the soundtrack to this blog. It’s my biggest regret that I missed their concert on Saturday in Vancouver.

I’ve been thinking about how giving up on photography might have been the best thing for my art. The truth is, nothing good could have came from the road I was on. I was trying too hard. Maybe that sounds like bullshit, and maybe it is.

I think if you want to make something beautiful, something that matters, something honest, you have to do it for its own sake, or not at all. It became too important for me to make money, you know? It’s weird, and I don’t think it suited me. I have no bloody idea what I’m doing know mind you, but I can feel my approach to photography really changing. Not ‘pursuing’ photography kind of creates some creative space to just do it. You know?

One thing that I’m realizing is that I love shooting peoples portraits. I think people are much more fascinating than we give them credit for. I would like to do more of that in the future.

Oh Ya! While looking back over posts I stumbled across this one and oh dear it put me in a good humor!
I thought I would share it in case you wanted to laugh with/at me.

OK, I’m done. Since I’m on Alicia’s laptop I don’t have a lot of pictures to choose some. Here’s a few old iPhone photo’s that I’ve always really liked.

“How fickle my heart and how woozy my eyes…”
– Mumford and Sons

Adam

 

 

 

 

One Response to “or not at all.”

  1. The German said

    Me again. Last attempt of stalking you for a while…
    I seriously enjoy reading through your blog and seeing how you grow, man! I’d enjoy even more if we could get back in contact and could share of lifes pleasures, treasures, and some heavy loaden…
    What about you? Interested in your old buddy from “Four-and-a-quarter”/Meadowoods/Abbotsford 2006…? Just let me know…
    I’m still calm-collected-german!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

