film and humility | Vancouver Photographer

March 7, 2010

“You know more than you think you know, just as you know less than you want to know.”

- Oscar Wilde.

Everyone is watching the Oscars right now except me. I have cable, but no TV.

Go figure.

I watched some of the Red Carpet stuff over at my mum’s place. It must be weird to be a movie star. I mean, we obviously glamorize that sort of life, but when I really think about it, I dont think I would like it at all.

Don’t get me wrong, I’ll take the fortune, and I wouldn’t even really mind the ‘Fame’ in and of itself. I just think I would rather have the sort of fame that like, I don’t know, Bill Gates has. I think Bill Gates could walk down the street without being mobbed by a pack of screaming and crying fans.

I mean, windows 7 isn’t that impressive.

But still, he’s respected around the world. The movie star kind of fame is something different all together. At its core it’s a fantasy. We look at them like a little piece of utopia. The most beautiful, the richest, the most talented, the most famous, etc.  And the implication is that this is the ‘Ideal’, the good life, happiness.

But come on…

It’s why we’re so shocked when they turn out to be bad parents, drunks, cheaters, etc.

We’re shocked that they are just like you and me.

Anyway, who cares? I’m rambling, conceited, and probably a little jealous. Oh, and a hypocrite. Cause honestly, I’d probably never turn down that life if it was offered to me.

moving on.

Some of you might have heard me recently talk about how I’ve been playing around with a Holga toy camera. It’s been a lot of fun for me. I started out shooting film back in the day, spending hours upon hours in my high school dark room (which I blogged all about a while ago in “The Dark Room Series“). But it’s been a long time since I’ve done that.

The Holga has been a great way to get out and just have fun shooting. Remembering what its like to just be completely creative for creativity’s sake. I love the grainy, vintage, crappy plastic lens look that it gives. But I have a lot to remember/learn about shooting film, which I’m looking forward too doing.

these are just a couple portraits of me and my lovely wife.

To be honest, most of what I’ve shot thus far has just not panned out.

The back popped off for one roll, another roll got jammed/ruined, another one just sucked all around.

needless to say, it’s been very humbling.

But this roll had a few keepers. There is a whole lot of trial and error going on these days.

But now that I’m starting to feel some traction, I’m excited to keep shoot with it.

Any other Holga shooters out there? Here’s a great resource for shooting and modifying your Holga.

Finally, there was some interest over on my twitter about a personality quiz I came across based entirely on picking colours that make you feel good. You can give it a try here if you want. It only takes a couple minutes, but the results are pretty crazy. In fact, they were down right creepy for me. Try it, you’ll see what I mean.

Cheers

3 Responses to “film and humility | Vancouver Photographer”

  1. Hey, I’m Ash. I don’t use a Holga, but I couldn’t be without my lomo LC-A+. I think part of the intrigue and fun of using these toy cameras is that you really have no idea how your images will develop! I count myself lucky if I can get 5 or 10 good shots from a roll. I love the dark vignetting of your shots :)

  2. another windows user said

    windows 7 isn’t that impressive? its miles better than xp and vista..memory usage is low…boot time is really fast especilay with an ssd and is arguably better than snow leopard. nice shots by the way…Where did you take them?

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

